Tag: 深圳醉仙论坛

  • Oyo Unity Cup ends in grand style, Ogo Oluwa/Surelere emerge champions

    first_imgRelatedPosts Minister gives condition for resumption of contact sports Minister pledges support for development of AI, robotics in Nigeria NSF 2020: Sports minister raises fresh hope The pioneer Oyo Unity Cup, which is the brainchild of the Minister of Youth and Sports Development, Sunday Dare, has ended with so many talking points as young footballers thrilled the fans with good football artistry at the Liberty Stadium in Ibadan, Oyo State. The aim of the competition is the discovery young talents in football for national and international exports. Speaking at the event, the Minister thanked all who contributed to the success of the maiden event and said it signals more good things to come in Sports. Dare said: “It’s never too late. “We have started and we will keep improving on Unity Cups across the Federation to ensure this goes across different states to enable us catch young talents. “Some of the talents that were discovered are indeed skillful. “I am impressed with what I have seen and this has spurred me to do more knowing that there are lots of talents undiscovered across the Federation.” Fans were also thrilled to catch a glimpse of some of their favourite ex-internationals. Leading the pack was Daniel “The Bull” Amokachi, former Everton Football player, accompanied by the the newly appointed Assistant Coach of the Super Eagles, Joseph Yobo; Mutiu Adepoju, the Nigerian LaLiga Ambassador and former player of Real Sociedad in Spain; and Ike Shorounmu, former Super Eagles goalkeeper. The fans were excited to have these football Legend gather in their town to be part of the finals of the Oyo Unity Cup. It was Ogo Oluwa Surelere Constituency of Ogbomosho who won the finals of the Oyo Unity Cup with 1-0 scoreline. The goal was scored by Olalekan Oyetunde, who happened to be the best player of the tournament. The highest goal scorer of the tournament went to Friday Michael from Ogoluwa/Surelere Federal Constituency and the fair play award went to Ibadan North Federal Constituency. Best goal keeper of the tournament went to Yusuf Adewale from Nigeria Union of Journalists team, with Oyetunde Olalenkan from Ogoluwa/Surelere Federal Constituency voted the most valuable player of the tournament. Other notable dignitaries in attendance were Festus Adegboye Onigbinde, former Super Eagles Coach; Senator Abiola Ajimobi, former Governor of Oyo State; and the FA Chairmen of Ondo, Ogun and Oyo States.Tags: Oyo Unity CupSunday DareSurulereUnity Cupslast_img read more

  • Azeez, Samaroo bowl Enterprise Primary Top to final … To face IBE in the Lower ECD Zone final

    first_imgA MESMERISING spell from 11-year-old leg-spinner Rafeek Azeez and 14-year-old medium-pacer Yugendra Samaroo spearheaded Enterprise Primary Top to a 15-run victory over Cummings Lodge Secondary when the 2016 edition of the Guyana Cricket Board (GCB) National Secondary Schools Cricket League continued yesterday at the Enterprise Community Centre ground.Chasing 320 for victory the visitors folded for 104 in 17.5 overs. Azeez claimed 4-19 while Samaroo took 3-22.Earlier, skipper Himnauth Dindyal stroked a fighting 42, which eventually guided his team to 119-7.Deciding to bat first in brilliant sunshine, the hosts were given an opening stand of 33 between Dindyal and Mark Ramanad, but careless stroke playing and reckless running between the wickets saw them reduced to 50-4, at halfway through the innings.Medium pacer Shankar Sahadeo provided the visitors with the first breakthrough when he removed Ramanad for 12. Three balls later he claimed the wicket of Edmon Pearson without scoring, at 34-2.The hosts then lost Dinesh Phagoo (0) and Rafeek Azeez (4), via run-out, but opener Himnauth Dindyal stood firm at the other end and singlehandedly took the attack to the opposition.He buckled down to his task on a slow, dry-looking pitch and added 26 for the fifth-wicket with Jash Paul before the latter was bowled by Sahadeo for two.It soon became 79-6, when Ricardo Niranjan was bowled by off-spinner Andrew Samar without scoring.However, the 15-year-old Dindyal never looked in trouble and frustrated the visitors, showing the perfect attitude for such a situation, before he was dismissed in the final over. His innings was laced with both aggression and temperament, counting five fours.Yugendra Samaroo was left unbeaten on 17. Sahadeo was the best bowler on show, claiming 3-28.In reply, Cummings Lodge Secondary found scoring difficult, and as a result lost wickets at regular intervals, with only Devanand Khemraj (24), Andrew Samar (13) and Anand Puran (12), offering any resistance with the bat.Meanwhile, in the other semi-final game played on Thursday at the same venue, IBE edged President’s College by seven wickets.The final is scheduled for Wednesday at the same venue.last_img read more